Bad Medicine

Catching New York's Deadliest Pill Pusher
Product Number: WEB377000
Released: 19 Jan, 2021
Business Term: OBOU 2 Years
ISBN: #9781982116446
Please log in to view pricing

Description

"Bad Medicine is a taut exploration of America's deadly battle with opioid addiction-an unnerving and inspirational firecracker of a book." -Karen Abbott, New York Times bestselling author of The Ghosts of Eden Park "This page-turning true detective story blew my mind. Charlotte Bismuth shows, in brilliant detail, what happens when patients become victims. Bad Medicine is timely and important; I can't recommend it loudly enough." -Mona Hanna-Attisha, MD, MPH, author of What the Eyes Don't See "A spellbinding story about bringing a deadly doctor to justice." -Patricia McCormick, New York Times bestselling author For fans of Dopesick and Bad Blood, the shocking story of New York's most infamous pill-pushing doctor, written by the prosecutor who brought him down.In 2010, a brave whistleblower alerted the police to Dr. Stan Li's corrupt pain management clinic in Queens, New York. Li spent years supplying more than seventy patients a day with oxycodone and Xanax, trading prescriptions for cash. Emergency room doctors, psychiatrists, and desperate family members warned him that his patients were at risk of death but he would not stop. In Bad Medicine, former prosecutor Charlotte Bismuth meticulously recounts the jaw dropping details of this criminal case that would span four years, culminating in a landmark trial. As a new assistant district attorney and single mother, Bismuth worked tirelessly with her team to bring Dr. Li to justice. Bad Medicine is a chilling story of corruption and greed and an important look at the role individual doctors play in America's opioid epidemic.

Author(s): Charlotte Bismuth
Original Publish Date: 19 Jan, 2021

All Formats/Editions

eAudio
x-large
Author(s): Charlotte Bismuth
Narrator(s): Samantha Desz
Product Number OB71241
Released: 19 Jan, 2021
Business Term: OBOU 2 Years
ISBN: #9781797109886

Stay up to date with W.F.Howes news and announcements

The Home of Audiobooks, Digital Services & Large Print