Epic Solitude

A Story of Survival and a Quest for Meaning in the Far North
eAudio - unabridged
(9.22 hours)
Product Number: OB78892
Released: 04 Feb, 2020
Business Term: OBOU Purchase
ISBN: #9781538552698
Please log in to view pricing

Description

All her life, Katherine Keith has hungered for remote, wild places that fill her soul with freedom and peace. Her travels take her across America, but it is in the vast and rugged landscape of Alaska that she finds her true home. Alaska is known as a place where people disappear-at least a couple thousand go missing each year. But the same vast and rugged landscape that contributed to so many people being lost is precisely what has gotten her found.She and her husband build a log cabin miles away from the nearest road and create a life of love. An idyllic existence, but with isolation and brutal living conditions can also come heartbreak. Chopping wood and hauling water are not just parts of a Zen proverb but a requirement for survival. Keith experiences tragic loss and must push on, with her infant daughter, alone in the Alaskan backcountry.Long-distance dog sledding opens a door to a new existence. Racing across the state of Alaska offers the best of all worlds by combining raw wilderness with solitude and athleticism. The Iditarod Trail Sled Dog Race, the "Last Great Race on Earth," remains a true test of character and offers the opportunity to intimately explore the frontier that she has come to love.With every thousand miles of winter trail traversed in total solitude, she confronts challenges that awaken internal demons, summoning all the inner grief and rage that lies dormant. In the tradition of Cheryl Strayed's Wild and John Krakauer's Into the Wild, Epic Solitude is the powerful and touching story of how one woman found her way-both despite and because of-the difficulties of living and racing in the remote wilderness.

Author(s): Katherine Keith
Original Publish Date: 04 Feb, 2020

Stay up to date with W.F.Howes news and announcements

The Home of Audiobooks, Digital Services & Large Print