The Lost Country

eAudio - unabridged
(15.82 hours)
Product Number: TCM2572
Released: Sep 01, 2018
Business Term: Multiuse 100 Circ
ISBN: #9781528820240
Narrator(s): T. Ryder Smith
Publisher: W F Howes
Please log in to view pricing

Description

Billy Edgewater is a harbinger of doom. Estranged from his family, discharged from the Navy, and touched by a rising desperation, he sets out hitchhiking home to East Tennessee, where his father is slowly dying. On the road, separately, are Sudy and Bradshaw, brother and sister, and a one-armed con man named Roosterfish. All, in one way or another, have their pasts and futures embroiled with D.L. Harkness, a predator in all the ways there are. Hounded at every turn by scams, vigilantes, grievous loss, and unspeakable violence, Edgewater navigates the long road home, searching for a place that may be nothing but memory.

Author(s): William Gay
Genre: Western
Awards:"The language and the imagery Gay uses is so vividly haunting that I want to savor it all. It is definitely a must-read for fans of Southern Literature and I know we will have a lot of excitement around here for it." CATHERINE BOCK, Parnassus Books "The novel exposes us to a deliciously dark southern underbelly, one that, when paired with its sparse, lean prose and quiet intensity, becomes incredibly mesmerizing." THE NEXT BEST BOOK CLUB
Original Publish Date: Sep 01, 2018

All Formats/Editions

Playaway
x-large
Author(s): William Gay
Narrator(s): T. Ryder Smith
Genre: Western
Product Number D6068
Released: Sep 01, 2018
Business Term: Purchase
Publisher: W F Howes
ISBN: #9781528822916
MP3 CD
x-large
Author(s): William Gay
Narrator(s): T. Ryder Smith
Genre: Western
Product Number MPCD3594
Released: Sep 01, 2018
Business Term: Purchase
Publisher: W F Howes
ISBN: #9781528820233
CD
x-large
Author(s): William Gay
Narrator(s): T. Ryder Smith
Genre: Western
Product Number CX4650
Released: Sep 01, 2018
Business Term: Purchase
Publisher: W F Howes
ISBN: #9781528820226

Professional reviews

"Ten years after it was first announced, Dzanc is proud to deliver the lost novel from a master of the Southern Gothic--the work William Gay fans have anticipated for a decade. Hailed as "a seemingly effortless storyteller" by the New York Times Book Review and "a writer of striking talent" by the Chicago Tribune, William Gay, with this long-awaited novel, secures his place alongside Faulkner, O'Connor, and McCarthy as one of the greatest novelists in the Southern Gothic tradition."

Stay up to date with W.F.Howes news and announcements

The Home of Audiobooks, Digital Services & Large Print