Consequences of War

MP3 CD
(1 CD)
Product Number: MPCD3425
Released: 01 Jun, 2018
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781528806404
Narrator(s): Emma Powell
Publisher: W F Howes
Please log in to view pricing

Description

Everyone remembered the summer of '39 as golden and strange. Golden because it was the driest on record; strange because people were burrowing holes and roofing them with iron. Waiting for the bombs... In the Hampshire town of Markham, Georgia Kennedy wakes on her husband's last day in Civvy Street and feels elated. Conventionally married to the pompous Hugh, she discovers liberation during the war. Like other women, she embraces the camaraderie previously held back by gender and class. For Georgia, for rich, spoiled Eve, for salt-of-the-earth Dolly, life will never be the same again.

Author(s): Betty Burton
Original Publish Date: 01 Jun, 2018

All Formats/Editions

eAudio
x-large
Author(s): Betty Burton
Narrator(s): Emma Powell
Product Number TCM2443
Released: 01 Jun, 2018
Business Term: Multiuse 100 Circ
Publisher: W F Howes
ISBN: #9781528806411
CD
x-large
Author(s): Betty Burton
Narrator(s): Emma Powell
Product Number CX4462
Released: 01 Jun, 2018
Business Term: Purchase
Publisher: W F Howes
ISBN: #9781528806398

Professional reviews

"Warm, witty and poignant, The Consequences of War confirms Betty Burton’s reputation as a master storyteller, and is perfect for fans of Katie Flynn and Diney Costeloe. Praise for the author: “Betty Burton constructs the world from the female point of view… carefully considered, subtle, and observant.” SUNDAY TIMES"

Stay up to date with W.F.Howes news and announcements

The Home of Audiobooks, Digital Services & Large Print