The Girl Who Couldn't Read

CD - unabridged
(8 CDs)
Product Number: CX931
Released: 01 Oct, 2014
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781471269271
Narrator(s): William Roberts
Publisher: W F Howes
Please log in to view pricing

Description

New England, 1890. Doctor John Shepherd arrives at a women’s mental hospital to begin work as assistant to the owner. As Shepherd struggles to conceal his secrets, he finds the asylum has plenty of its own. Intrigued by a girl who is fascinated by books but cannot read, Shepherd embarks upon an experiment to help her. In this chilling literary thriller everyone has something to hide and no one is what they seem.

Author(s): John Harding
Original Publish Date: 01 Oct, 2014

All Formats/Editions

Playaway
x-large
Author(s): John Harding
Narrator(s): William Roberts
Product Number D1074
Released: 01 Jan, 2015
Business Term: Purchase
Publisher: W F Howes
ISBN: #9781471279355
eAudio
x-large
Author(s): John Harding
Narrator(s): William Roberts
Product Number TCM572
Released: 01 Jan, 2015
Business Term: Multiuse 100 Circ
Publisher: W F Howes
ISBN: #9781471280313
eBook
x-large
Author(s): John Harding
Genre: Literature
Product Number WEB16521
Released: 28 Aug, 2014
Business Term: OBOU 26 Circs
Publisher: The Borough Press
ISBN: #9780007562107
MP3 CD
x-large
Author(s): John Harding
Narrator(s): William Roberts
Product Number MPCD526
Released: 01 Oct, 2014
Business Term: Purchase
Publisher: W F Howes
ISBN: #9781471276811

Professional reviews

"A sinister Gothic tale in the tradition of The Woman in Black and The Fall of the House of Usher, the sequel to the bestselling Florence and Giles ‘Real atmosphere is increasingly rare in novels and here it is in spades… A darkly glamorous tour de force’ DAILY MAIL on Florence and Giles ‘Imagine Henry James’s The Turn of the Screw reworked by Edgar Allan Poe…Nothing prepares you for the chillingly ruthless but inevitable finale.’ THE TIMES on Florence and Giles"

Stay up to date with W.F.Howes news and announcements

The Home of Audiobooks, Digital Services & Large Print