Ebooks and digital audiobooks are now sold and managed in OverDrive MarketPlace. Learn more. Continue to this site to purchase physical audio and large print only.

Such Pretty Things

MP3 CD
(1 CD)
Product Number: MPCD6345
Released: 01 Nov, 2021
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781004053803
Narrator(s): Harrie Dobby
Publisher: W F Howes
Please log in to view pricing

Description

A terrifying story of ghosts and grief, perfect for fans of Shirley Jackon's The Haunting of Hill House and Henry James The Turn of the Screw, in award-winning author Lisa Heathfield s first adult novel. Following their mother's accident, Clara and Stephen are sent to stay with their aunt and uncle in a remote house in the hills. At first, they see it as a summer to explore. There's the train set in the basement, the walled garden and the woods. Beyond it all the loch sits, silent and waiting. Auntie has wanted children for so long, with hair to brush and arms to slip into clothes made just for them. All those hours washing, polishing, preparing beds and preserving fruit and now Clara and Stephen are here, like a miracle, on her doorstep. But as they explore their new home, the children uncover ghosts Auntie buried long ago. As their worlds collide, Clara and Auntie struggle for control. And every day they spend there, Clara can feel unknown forces changing her brother. Haunted and bewildered, this hastily formed family finds itself falling apart, with terrifying consequences for them all. Such Pretty Things is a deeply chilling and haunting story about the slow shattering nature of grief, displacement, jealousy and an overwhelming desire to love and be loved. “Wonderfully creepy and unsettling.” A. J. ELWOOD, author of The Cottingley Cuckoo “A masterful slow burn... elegantly crafted and horribly powerful.” ALLY WILKES, author of All the White Spaces “Unnerving and melancholy, this book will hold your heart spellbound.” MARIE O’REGAN, author of The Last Ghost and Other Stories, editor of Wonderland and Cursed “Treads the fine line between nostalgic creepiness harking back to the classics and modern pacing. Not to be missed!” PAUL KANE, author of Sherlock Homes and the Servants of Hell, Before and Arcana “A masterful modern day gothic.” PAUL TREMBLAY, author of Cain at the End of the World

Author(s): Lisa Heathfield
Imprint: Clipper Thriller
Original Publish Date: 01 Nov, 2021

You can find this title in the following lists:

All Formats/Editions

CD
x-large
Author(s): Lisa Heathfield
Narrator(s): Harrie Dobby
Product Number CX7672
Released: 01 Nov, 2021
Business Term: Purchase
Publisher: W F Howes
ISBN: #9781004053797

Stay up to date with W.F.Howes news and announcements

The Home of Audiobooks & Large Print