Ebooks and digital audiobooks are now sold and managed in OverDrive MarketPlace. Learn more. Continue to this site to purchase physical audio and large print only.

The Girl from the Island

Large Print
(528 Pages)
Product Number: LP5278
Released: 01 Jul, 2021
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781004048434
Publisher: W F Howes
Please log in to view pricing

Description

A world at war. One woman will risk everything. Another will uncover her story. 1940: When the island of Guernsey is invaded by the Nazis, two sisters are determined to rebel in any way they can. But when forced to take in a German soldier, they are shocked to find a familiar face on their doorstep – a childhood friend who has now become their enemy. 2016: Two generations later, Lucy returns to Guernsey after the death of a distant cousin. As she prepares the old family house for sale, Lucy discovers a box of handwritten notes, one word standing out: resistance. Lucy’s search for the author will uncover the story of a forgotten sister who vanished from the island one night, never to be seen again. A timeless story of love and bravery, perfect for fans of Gill Paul and Kathleen McGurl. “With a descriptive backdrop this story offers intrigue and tender romance. Highly recommended” GLYNIS PETERS, author of The Secret Orphan “Paints an evocative picture of the bravery, fortitude and heart-breaking decisions of two British sisters living under German occupation on the beautiful island of Guernsey during WWII” ADRIENNE CHIN, author of The English Wife “A book to get lost in… Love, suspense and a page-turning story” TRACY REES, Richard and Judy bestselling author “A heart-rending, devastating, beautiful book that brings Guernsey’s past to life in a fresh and thoroughly readable way” LOUISE DOUGLAS, author of The House by the Sea “A sweeping tale of love and courage, The Girl from the Island is tender and shocking in equal measure. Get ready for an utterly absorbing, heart-rending read. I loved it” EMMA ROUS, author of The Au Pair

Author(s): Lorna Cook
Original Publish Date: 01 Jul, 2021

You can find this title in the following lists:

All Formats/Editions

MP3 CD
x-large
Author(s): Lorna Cook
Narrator(s): Charlotte Newton John
Product Number MPCD6208
Released: 01 Jun, 2021
Business Term: Purchase
Publisher: W F Howes
ISBN: #9780008463403
CD
x-large
Author(s): Lorna Cook
Narrator(s): Charlotte Newton John
Product Number CX7532
Released: 01 Jun, 2021
Business Term: Purchase
Publisher: W F Howes
ISBN: #9780008463373

Stay up to date with W.F.Howes news and announcements

The Home of Audiobooks & Large Print