Ebooks and digital audiobooks are now sold and managed in OverDrive MarketPlace. Learn more. Continue to this site to purchase physical audio and large print only.

The Winter Agent

MP3 CD
(1 CD)
Product Number: MPCD5832
Released: 01 May, 2021
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781004025589
Narrator(s): Jonathan Keeble
Publisher: W F Howes
Please log in to view pricing

Description

February, 1944. A bitter winter grips occupied France, where Marc Reece leads a circuit of British agents risking their lives in order to sabotage the German war effort from within. But Reece has a second mission, secret even from his fellow agents - including Charlotte, the woman with whom he has ill-advisedly fallen in love. He must secure a document identifying a German spy at the heart of British intelligence. The fate of the Allied forces on D-Day is in his hands. But when his circuit is ambushed - with fatal consequences - Reece realizes there may be a traitor in its ranks, putting everything they've been fighting for at risk. Then Charlotte goes missing. Is she in danger, or has Reece been betrayed by the only person he thought he could trust? And with the clock ticking towards D-Day, can he find the truth before it's too late? A gripping and atmospheric thriller inspired by true events, this is the story of a deadly game of espionage, destined to change the course of the most crucial battle in the Second World War. Praise for Liberation Square, - Far more than an intellectual exercise - it is a gripping story, with heart, Daily Telegraph, Best Thrillers of the Year (A) richly imagined thriller . . . Tightly plotted, tense and set in a chillingly plausible world, Sunday Mirror An interesting take on the 'What if we'd lost World War II?' debate. A gripping and well-imagined yarn, Sun A tight and compelling thriller, SFX A twisting murder mystery combined with a chillingly plausible alternative history of a divided Cold War London. Brilliant, Mason Cross, Richard and Judy bestselling author of The Samaritan Rubin constructs a tantalising alternative world with 1950s Britain riven apart by its own version of the Berlin Wall - and all because the D-Day landings failed. Against this dystopian nightmare, the author overlays a murder mystery that's sure to appeal to fans of SS-GB, The Man in the High Castle, and Fatherland, David Young, CWA Dagger-winning author of Stasi Child A gripping murder mystery set in an alternative 1950s Britain. Rubin's London, split between American and Soviet zones after a disastrous World War Two, is vividly realised and his story is elegantly constructed. One not to miss, William Ryan, author of The Constant Soldier In the great tradition of SS-GB and Fatherland, Rubin's alternative-1950s murder mystery takes an ingenious premise - the Americans and the Soviets have carved up Britain between them after rescuing the country from the Nazis - and makes it come alive through sheer storytelling skill, Jake Kerridge Exhaustively researched, superbly realised, The Winter Agent is a superior SOE novel. Gareth Rubin really knows his stuff and it shows on every page, Howard Linskey

Author(s): Gareth Rubin
Original Publish Date: 01 May, 2021

All Formats/Editions

Playaway
x-large
Author(s): Gareth Rubin
Narrator(s): Jonathan Keeble
Product Number D6909
Released: 01 May, 2021
Business Term: Purchase
Publisher: W F Howes
ISBN: #9781004025572
CD
x-large
Author(s): Gareth Rubin
Narrator(s): Jonathan Keeble
Product Number CX7142
Released: 01 May, 2021
Business Term: Purchase
Publisher: W F Howes
ISBN: #9781004025565

Stay up to date with W.F.Howes news and announcements

The Home of Audiobooks & Large Print