Ebooks and digital audiobooks are now sold and managed in OverDrive MarketPlace. Learn more. Continue to this site to purchase physical audio and large print only.

The Conviction of Cora Burns

Large Print
(432 Pages)
Product Number: LP5042
Released: 01 Sep, 2020
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781004012787
Publisher: W F Howes
Please log in to view pricing

Description

Longlisted for the 2019 HWA Debut Crown Birmingham, 1885. Born in a gaol and raised in a workhouse, Cora Burns has always struggled to control the violence inside her. Haunted by memories of a terrible crime, she seeks a new life working as a servant in the house of scientist Thomas Jerwood. Here, Cora befriends a young girl, Violet, who seems to be the subject of a living experiment. But is Jerwood also secretly studying Cora...? “Even at its darkest it is beautifully written, the research is meticulous and the complex Cora makes a flawed but affecting heroine. A great historical novel with bite” SUNDAY MIRROR “Kirby writes with skill and gusto” TIMES “This richly woven Gothic tale is an atmospheric treat” HEAT MAGAZINE “Perfect for fans of Sarah Waters, this book took me into Cora's world so expertly I experienced it with every sense” CASS GREEN “The Conviction of Cora Burns is a striking debut. Rich in gothic darkness and period detail, the brutality of Victorian Britain is exquisitely drawn. A beautifully-written story which enveloped me from first page to last” AMANDA JENNINGS

Author(s): Carolyn Kirby
Original Publish Date: 01 Sep, 2020

You can find this title in the following lists:

All Formats/Editions

MP3 CD
x-large
Author(s): Carolyn Kirby
Narrator(s): Emma Fenney, Kris Dyer
Product Number MPCD4118
Released: 01 May, 2019
Business Term: Purchase
Publisher: W F Howes
ISBN: #9781528861205
CD
x-large
Author(s): Carolyn Kirby
Narrator(s): Emma Fenney, Kris Dyer
Product Number CX5229
Released: 01 May, 2019
Business Term: Purchase
Publisher: W F Howes
ISBN: #9781528861199

Stay up to date with W.F.Howes news and announcements

The Home of Audiobooks & Large Print