Ebooks and digital audiobooks are now sold and managed in OverDrive MarketPlace. Learn more. Continue to this site to purchase physical audio and large print only.

We Learnt About Hitler at the Mickey Mouse Club

A Childhood on the Eve of War
Product Number: D6754
Released: 01 Sep, 2020
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9781004008520
Narrator(s): Anna Cordell
Publisher: W F Howes
Please log in to view pricing

Description

Enid Elliot Linder was the daughter of a butler and a lady’s maid in service in some of England’s grandest country houses. Evoking the lost world of a childhood ‘below stairs’, Linder’s touching memoir describes how her life changed as Britain headed towards war. After the family moved to a Marylebone tenement, her father sought work in London restaurants whilst battling personal demons. Meanwhile Linder’s aunt was nanny to a high-ranking member of the British Union of Fascists as they grew in influence. In a photorealistic and immensely charming narrative reminiscent of Patrick Hamilton, Linder evokes the sights and smells of prewar London - and of lonely Cornwall, to where she was unhappily evacuated - in a way that will appeal to fans of Call The Midwife or Downton Abbey. A unique personal account of a tumultuous time.

Author(s): Enid Elliott Linder
Original Publish Date: 01 Sep, 2020

You can find this title in the following lists:

All Formats/Editions

CD
x-large
Author(s): Enid Elliott Linder
Narrator(s): Anna Cordell
Product Number CX6606
Released: 01 Sep, 2020
Business Term: Purchase
Publisher: W F Howes
ISBN: #9781004008513
MP3 CD
x-large
Author(s): Enid Elliott Linder
Narrator(s): Anna Cordell
Product Number MPCD5336
Released: 01 Sep, 2020
Business Term: Purchase
Publisher: W F Howes
ISBN: #9781004008537

Stay up to date with W.F.Howes news and announcements

The Home of Audiobooks & Large Print