Ebooks and digital audiobooks are now sold and managed in OverDrive MarketPlace. Learn more. Continue to this site to purchase physical audio and large print only.

Flamingo Boy

CD - unabridged
(5 CDs)
Product Number: CX4236
Released: 01 May, 2018
Business Term: Purchase
ISBN: #9780008279059
Narrator(s): George Blagden
Publisher: W F Howes
Please log in to view pricing

Description

This is a landmark new novel form the nation’s favourite storyteller, set in the unique landscape of the Camargue in the South of France during WW2. There, a young autistic boy lives on his parents’ farm among the salt flats, and the flamingos that live there. There are lots of things he doesn’t understand: but he does know how to heal animals. He loves routine, and music too: and every week he goes to market with his mother, to ride his special horse on the town carousel. But then the Germans come, with their guns, and take the town. A soldier shoots a flamingo from the sky, and it falls to earth terribly injured. And even worse is to come: the carousel is damaged, the horses broken. For this vulnerable boy, everything is falling apart. Only there’s a kind sergeant among the Germans – a man with a young boy of his own at home, a man who trained as a carpenter. Between them, perhaps boy and man can mend what has been broken – and maybe even the whole town…

Author(s): Michael Morpurgo
Original Publish Date: 01 May, 2018

All Formats/Editions

Playaway
x-large
Author(s): Michael Morpurgo
Narrator(s): George Blagden
Product Number D5786
Released: 01 May, 2018
Business Term: Purchase
Publisher: W F Howes
ISBN: #9780008279066
MP3 CD
x-large
Author(s): Michael Morpurgo
Narrator(s): George Blagden
Product Number MPCD3208
Released: 01 May, 2018
Business Term: Purchase
Publisher: W F Howes
ISBN: #9780008279080

Professional reviews

"A stunning new classic from master storyteller Michael Morpurgo, in the vein of Private Peaceful and The Butterfly Lion. “Please invite this wonderful story in, you won’t regret it. History is rarely more movingly alive.” MORRIS GLEITZMAN Praise for the author: “Michael Morpurgo writes brilliantly about war and animals, conveying the big emotions without preaching.” GUARDIAN"

Stay up to date with W.F.Howes news and announcements

The Home of Audiobooks & Large Print